Buy Girl Mans Up - by M-E Girard (Paperback) in United States - Cartnear.com

Girl Mans Up - by M-E Girard (Paperback)

CTNR807285 09780062404183 CTNR807285

Northlight

Northlight
2023-12-02 USD 11.73

$ 11.73 $ 12.09

Item Added to Cart

*Product availability is subject to suppliers inventory

Girl Mans Up - by  M-E Girard (Paperback)
SHIPPING ALL OVER UNITED STATES
Girl Mans Up - by  M-E Girard (Paperback)
100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE
Girl Mans Up - by  M-E Girard (Paperback)
EASY 30 DAYSRETURNS & REFUNDS
Girl Mans Up - by  M-E Girard (Paperback)
24/7 CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Girl Mans Up - by  M-E Girard (Paperback)
TRUSTED AND SAFE WEBSITE
Girl Mans Up - by  M-E Girard (Paperback)
100% SECURE CHECKOUT
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: LGBT
Format: Paperback
Publisher: HarperCollins
Age Range: Teen
Author: M-E Girard
Language: English



About the Book



Winner of "The New York Times Book Review" Lambda Literary Award and finalist for the William C. Morris Debut Award. Pen doesn't know what to call herself, but she knows who she is, who she likes, and how she wants to look. But with parents who expect her to be girly and guy friends who don't know what to make of her, it's not easy.



Book Synopsis



Lambda Literary Award Winner! "Pen is an inspiration to anyone who's struggled to be understood, and a vital addition to the growing world of genderqueer protagonists." --New York Times Book Review

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she's always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it?

They think the way she looks and acts means she's trying to be a boy--that she should quit trying to be something she's not. If she dresses like a girl, and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty.

But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth--that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she'll have to man up.

Now available in paperback, M. E. Girard's Girl Mans Up is perfect for fans of Meredith Russo, Becky Albertalli, Alex Sanchez, and Jaye Robin Brown!

Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of 2016 * Children's Book Council Books Best Book of 2016 * Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Coming-of-Age Novel of 2016 and Best Teen Book of 2016 with Unforgettable Protagonists * Publishers Weekly Fall 2016 Flying Starts * William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist



Review Quotes




"Girard explores questions of family, friendship, loyalty, and identity through the voice of Pen Oliveira, a 16-year old girl ... [She] forcefully conveys the fear Pen lives with, having experienced frequent mockery and bullying, and her courage in aspiring to a safe, loving community for herself and her friends."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Raw. Real. Irresistable."--I.W. Gregorio, author of None of the Above

"Respeito for Pen."--Sara Ryan, Award winning author of Empress of the World and Bad Houses

"This is a fresh title in the growing sea of LGBTQ YA literature. There is no sugarcoating in this very real portrayal of an aspect of teen life that many experience. Recommended for fans of YA urban fiction as well as those who prefer grittier LGBTQ lit."--School Library Journal (starred review)

"A powerful book about identity, belonging, and the collision between sexuality and cultural expectations."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Fierce. Tender. Unstoppable."--Lauren Myracle, New York Times bestselling author of The Infinite Moment of Us and co-author of How to Be Bad

"Heartfelt. Refreshing. True."--Ariel Schrag, author of Potential and Adam

"I loved it. A brilliant new writer to watch."--Malinda Lo, author of Ash, Adaptation, and Inheritance and co-founder of Diversity in YA

"Original. Courageous. Vibrant."--Michael Cart, Columnist at ALA Booklist and Former President of Young Adult Library Services Michael Cart, Editor of Taking Aim and How Beautiful the Ordinary

Related Products

See More