Buy Console Wars - by Blake J Harris (Paperback) in United States - Cartnear.com

Console Wars - by Blake J Harris (Paperback)

CTNR2829 09780062276704 CTNR2829

Corsair

Corsair
2024-02-02 USD 18.8

$ 18.80 $ 19.79

Item Added to Cart

*Product availability is subject to suppliers inventory

Console Wars - by  Blake J Harris (Paperback)
SHIPPING ALL OVER UNITED STATES
Console Wars - by  Blake J Harris (Paperback)
100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE
Console Wars - by  Blake J Harris (Paperback)
EASY 30 DAYSRETURNS & REFUNDS
Console Wars - by  Blake J Harris (Paperback)
24/7 CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Console Wars - by  Blake J Harris (Paperback)
TRUSTED AND SAFE WEBSITE
Console Wars - by  Blake J Harris (Paperback)
100% SECURE CHECKOUT
Number of Pages: 576
Genre: Business + Money Management
Sub-Genre: Corporate & Business History
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Dey Street Books
Age Range: Adult
Author: Blake J Harris
Language: English



About the Book



"In the tradition of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball, a behind-the-scenes business thriller about how the small, scrappy Sega, led by one unlikely visionary, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and changed the face of entertainment"--



Book Synopsis



Now a documentary on CBS All Access.

Following the success of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball comes Console Wars--a mesmerizing, behind-the-scenes business thriller that chronicles how Sega, a small, scrappy gaming company led by an unlikely visionary and a team of rebels, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and revolutionized the video game industry.

In 1990, Nintendo had a virtual monopoly on the video game industry. Sega, on the other hand, was just a faltering arcade company with big aspirations and even bigger personalities. But that would all change with the arrival of Tom Kalinske, a man who knew nothing about videogames and everything about fighting uphill battles. His unconventional tactics, combined with the blood, sweat and bold ideas of his renegade employees, transformed Sega and eventually led to a ruthless David-and-Goliath showdown with rival Nintendo.

The battle was vicious, relentless, and highly profitable, eventually sparking a global corporate war that would be fought on several fronts: from living rooms and schoolyards to boardrooms and Congress. It was a once-in-a-lifetime, no-holds-barred conflict that pitted brother against brother, kid against adult, Sonic against Mario, and the US against Japan.

Based on over two hundred interviews with former Sega and Nintendo employees, Console Wars is the underdog tale of how Kalinske miraculously turned an industry punchline into a market leader. It's the story of how a humble family man, with an extraordinary imagination and a gift for turning problems into competitive advantages, inspired a team of underdogs to slay a giant and, as a result, birth a $60 billion dollar industry.

A best book of the year: NPR, Slate, Publishers Weekly, Goodreads



From the Back Cover



Named a "Best Book of the Year" by NPR, Slate, Publishers Weekly, and Goodreads

It was a once-in-a-lifetime battle that pitted brother against brother, kid against adult, Sonic against Mario, and the United States against Japan. . . .

In 1990, Nintendo had a virtual monopoly on the videogame industry. Sega was a faltering arcade company with big aspirations and even bigger personalities. But all that would change with the arrival of former Mattel executive Tom Kalinske. His unconventional tactics, combined with the blood, sweat, and bold ideas of his renegade employees, completely transformed Sega and led to a ruthless David-and-Goliath showdown with Nintendo. But Sega's success would create many new enemies and make Nintendo stronger than ever.

Blake J. Harris brings into focus the warriors, the strategies, and the battles and explores how they transformed popular culture forever. Ultimately, Console Wars is the story of how a humble family man, with an extraordinary imagination and a gift for turning problems into competitive advantages, inspired a team of underdogs to slay a giant and, as a result, give birth to a sixty-billion-dollar industry.



Review Quotes




A riveting story full of colorful characters... a fascinating, illuminating history... an essential read.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A highly entertaining behind-the-scenes thriller.--Kirkus Reviews

Fast, fluid, and startingly accessible.--Entertainment Weekly

Like the pixels that together create a larger picture, Harris presents the various elements of the business in vivid color...remarkably detailed and fast paced.--Booklist

A fast-paced page-turner...it's exciting to finally get a no-holds-barred account of a history that has largely been kept secret from the public eye.--Wired

It's far and away one of the best non-fiction books I've ever read.--Forbes

A must-read. Period.--IGN

Related Products

See More